hff_trvl@moov.mg
22 283 72
  EN FR
Madagascar

1- Geography of Madagascar :

  The island of Madagascar, located in the Indian Ocean, separated from the African coast by the Mozambique Channel, is the territory which occupies the Republic of Madagascar. Stretching over 1 600 km from the North to the South against 600 km from the west to the east, it is the fourth major island in the world with 587,000 km2 of the area and 16 million people. In the Northeast, these are only humid and luxuriant forests, where grows in foison one thousand species of orchids, of which vanilla, but also various creepers full of flowers, coffee trees, banana trees, cloves, pepper-pots and lichees. These forests give a contrast grabbing with the landscapes of the big south, which resemble the bush of Southern Africa and come down in dry savannas and sour undergrowth. The only touches of lively colour in this decor are given by the beaches of white sand and the emerald green of the sea of Mozambique Channel. Between these extreme landscapes, from Fianarantsoa to Antananarivo, there are the High central Lands which shelter green rice fields in terraces, of big eucalyptus and pinewood as far as the eye can see.

2- Climate

Because of its geographical situation, the climate of Madagascar is tropical along the coast, having tempered inside lands and semi arid in the south. The trade wind dominates the climatic regime of the island. Madagascar knows two seasons in general: a hot and humid season from November till April, then a dry season, more cool, from May till October. Climates are however very various according to altitude and region. The sea is stronger in the East, in Indian Ocean to the West in the Mozambique Channel.

3- Particularities:

  • • Madagascar constitutes a true shrine of nature. The most part of its fauna and flora is endemic: as passengers' famous « tree » RAVENALA or its 1200 kinds of orchid or different kinds of Lemurs without speaking about his mining and marine treasures. In comparison with other islands of Indian Ocean, Madagascar still the charm of a virgin island continent not yet pervaded by wild tourism: it is Ecotourism with "E" because to visit Madagascar is to discover nature in its pure and noble. As on all islands of Indian Ocean, they find tropical fruits in abundance during all year as well beautiful hand-crafted products.
  • •  His population, Malagasy, is the most peaceful people throughout Africa. They are descendants of a crossbreeding g between the explorers Africans, Indonesian and Arabs. Apart from the ancestor worship which is still predominant, the most part of Malagasy are Christian and the minority is Muslim. . They belong to 19 tribes scattered in 22 regions. The basic food is the rice.
  • •  Official language: Malagasy language but French is the second language spoken.
  • •  Time zone: GMT + 3
  • •  Local currency: the MGA (1 Euro = 2600 MGA, 1 U.S. dollar = 1600 MGA)
  • •  The capital is Antananarivo. The national flag is Drapeau de Madagascar (white, green and red)

4- Tourism infrastructure:

Madagascar begins to professionalize in international tourism. In all regions, hotels compete in beauty and in performance because each service offers circuits and clean menus in his region while looking after the needs of the tourists. Our Agency only work with renowned hotels to assure the comfort and safety of our customers during their stay in Madagascar.

5- Useful information:

To stay in Madagascar, is needed a visa issued in the airport with a valid passport during 6 months minimum. A tourist visa hard from 1 to 3 months and requires 60 about Euro. No specific vaccination is demanded in the airport but it is always necessary to envisage anti-malarial medicaments and essentials of dressings if they go to jungle and also of some solar cream as in all tropical regions. It is always necessary to drink some bottled water. The Malagasy people are very nice and obliging as long as they do not offend them on them usages or their way of life.

hff_trvl@moov.mg
22 283 72
  EN FR
Madagascar

Géographie de Madagascar :

  L'île de Madagascar, située dans l'océan Indien, séparée des côtes africaine par la canal de Mozambique, est le territoire qu'occupe la république de Madagascar. S'étirant sur 1 600 km du Nord au Sud contre 600 km d'Ouest en Est, c'est la quatrième grande île au monde avec 587.000 km2 de superficie et 16 millions de population. Au Nord-Est, ce ne sont que forèts humides et luxuriantes, où poussent à foison un millier d'espèces d'orchidées, dont la vanille, mais aussi diverses lianes fleuries, des caféiers, bananiers, girofliers, poivriers et litchis. Ces forèts offrent un contraste saisissant avec les paysages du grand sud, qui ressemblent au bush d'Afrique australe et se résument en savanes sèches et broussailles revèches. Les seules touches de couleur vive dans ce décor sont offertes par les plages de sable blanc et le vert émeraude de la mer du Canal de Mozambique. Entre ces paysages extrèmes, de Fianarantsoa à Antananarivo, il y a les Hautes Terres centrales qui abritent des rizières verdoyantes en terrasses, de grands eucalyptus et des pinèdes à perte de vue.

Climat :

A cause de sa situation géographique, le climat de Madagascar est tropical le long de la côte, tempéré à l'intérieur des terres et semi désertique dans le sud. L'alizé domine le régime climatique de l'île. Madagascar connaît en général deux saisons: une saison chaude et humide de novembre à avril, puis une saison sèche, plus fraîche, de mai à octobre. Les climats sont cependant très variés selon l'altitude et la région. La mer est plus forte sur la cote Est, dans l'Océan Indien qu'à l'Ouest dans le canal de Mozambique.

Particularités :

  • • Madagascar constitue un véritable sanctuaire de la nature. La plupart de sa faune et flore est endémique : comme le fameux « arbre de voyageurs » RAVENALA ou ses 1200 espèces d'orchidée ou les différents espèces de Makis sans parler de ses richesses minières et marines. Par rapport aux autres îles de l'Océan Indien, Madagascar possède encore les charmes vierges d'une île continent non encore envahi par le tourisme sauvage : c'est l'Ecotourisme avec un « E » car visiter Madagascar c'est découvrir la nature dans son état pur et noble. Comme dans toutes les îles de l'Océan Indien, on y trouve des fruits tropicaux en abondance pendant toute l'année ainsi que de très beaux produits artisanaux.
  • •  Sa population, les Malagasy, est le peuple le plus pacifique de toute l'Afrique. Ils descendent d'un métissage entre les explorateurs Africains, Indonésiens et Arabes. A part le culte des ancètres qui est encore dominant, la plupart des Malagasy sont chrétiens et une minorité sont musulmans. Ils appartiennent à 19 tribus éparpillées dans 22 régions. L'aliment de base est le riz.
  • •  Langue officielle : Malagasy mais la langue française est la 2ème langue parlée.
  • •  Fuseau horaire : GMT + 3
  • •  Monnaie locale : le MGA (1 Euro = 2.600 MGA, 1 Dollar US =1.600 MGA)
  • •  La Capitale est Antananarivo. Le drapeau national est le Drapeau de Madagascar (blanc, vert et rouge)

Infrastructure touristique :

Madagascar commence à se professionnaliser au tourisme international. Dans toutes les régions, les hôtels rivalisent en beauté et en prestation car chacun propose des circuits et des menus propres à sa région tout en veillant aux besoins des touristes. Notre Agence ne travaillent qu'avec des hôtels de renommés afin de mieux assurer le confort et la sécurité de nos clients durant leur séjour à Madagascar.

Informations utiles :

Pour séjourner à Madagascar, il faut un visa délivré à l'aéroport avec un passeport valable pendant 6 mois minimum. Un visa de touriste dure de 1 à 3 mois et nécessite environ 60 Euro. Aucune vaccination spécifique n'est exigée à l'aéroport mais il faut toujours prévoir des médicaments anti-paludéens, et des nécessaires de pansements si on va en brousse et aussi de la crème solaire comme dans toutes les régions tropicales. Il faut toujours boire de l'eau en bouteille. Les Malagasy sont des gens très gentils et serviables tant qu'on ne les vexe pas sur leur coutumes ou leur mode de vie.